17 deputy ministers designate approved

Parliament yesterday approved the nomination of 17 deputy ministers of state designate by consensus. Members of Parliament (MPs) from both sides shared the view that the nominees were generally knowledgeable and experienced to occupy their respective ministerial positions, and unanimously approved their nomination.

The approval followed the presentation of the report of the Appointments Committee of Parliament (ACP) which recommended, by consensus, that the nominees be approved by the House because they had sufficiently satisfied the committee that they had the knowledge and experience to man the respective ministries.

The nominees

The deputy ministers designate approved are Mr Joseph Dindiok Kpemka, Attorney General and Minister of Justice; Mr Godfred Yeboah Dame, Attorney General and Minister of Justice; Mr Kwabena Owusu Aduomi, Roads and Highways; Ms Patricia Appiagyei, Environment, Science, Technology and Innovation; Mr Perry Kwabla Curtis Okudzeto, Information; Mr Osei Bonsu Amoah, Local Government and Rural Development; Nii Kwartei Titus Glover, Transport; Mrs Barbara Asher Ayisi, Education, and Mr Anthony Karbo, Roads and Highways.

The rest are Mr Michael Yaw Gyato, Sanitation and Water Resources; Mr Benito Owusu-Bio, Lands and Natural Resources; Mr Kingsley Aboagye-Gyedu, Health; Mr Kweku Agyenim Boateng, Railways Development; Mr Kwabena Darko-Mensah, Aviation; Mr Robert Ahomka-Lindsey, Trade and Industry; Mr George Nenyi Kojo Andah, Communications, and Mr Mohammed Habibu Tijani, Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration.

In accordance with Article 256 (2) of the 1992 Constitution, President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo communicated to Parliament the nomination of the ministers and deputy ministers designate.

Consequently, the Speaker of Parliament, Professor Aaron Mike Oquaye, referred the nomination of the deputy regional ministers to the ACP for consideration and report, pursuant to Order 172 Standing Orders of the House.

Committee’s report

Presenting the report, the committee’s Deputy Chairperson, Ms Sarah Adwoa Safo, said the ACP obtained confidential reports on the nominees from the Ghana Police Service and the Bureau of National Investigations (BNI) as part of the background checks.

Besides, she said, tax status reports were obtained from the Ghana Revenue Authority.

Ms Safo said the nominees answered questions relating to their eligibility, issues pertaining to the offices to which they had been nominated and other issues of national concern.

She said the committee had reached a consensus that all the nominees be approved.

The Minority Leader and Ranking Member on the ACP, Mr Haruna Iddrisu, supported the motion for the nominees to be approved by consensus.


Source: graphic

0 thoughts on “17 deputy ministers designate approved

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.